The Cars new CD “Move Like This” due out in May; View official “Blue Tip” video

The Cars’ seventh album and their first in 23 years, “Move Like This” is scheduled to be released May 10, 2011 by Concord Music Group. The album will be their first since 1987’s Door to Door and feature all of the original band members except for bassist and vocalist Benjamin Orr, who died of pancreatic cancer in 2000.

The first single, due in March 2011 is slated to be the track “Sad Song“. We viewed and listened to a clip on YouTube and it definitely has that classic Cars sound.

Blue Tip (official) Video | The Cars

Move Like This” is the first reunion of The Cars to feature vocalist Ric Ocasek  since their 1988 split. In 1997, Ocasek told a journalist that the band would “never” reunite: “I’m saying never and you can count on that.” A partial reunion of the band occurred in 2005 when keyboardist Greg Hawkes and lead guitarist Elliot Easton toured with singer Todd Rundgren, drummer Prairie Prince and bassist Kasim Sulton as “The New Cars”; neither Ocasek nor Cars drummer David Robinson participated, and the Rundgren lineup split following two years of touring.

According to Paste magazine, Ocasek said that he was “amazed at how we clicked when we got back together” for “Move Like This“.

Track Listing:

1. Blue Tip
2. Too Late
3. Keep On Knocking
4. Soon
5. Sad Song
6. Free
7. Drag On Forever
8. Take Another Look
9. It’s Only
10. Hits Me